Last Updated on by
With every passing day, the number of people using social media platforms is growing at a rapid rate. With this growth, the number of bullies and trolls on social media platforms is growing as well. Twitter, is one such platform that is notorious for its toxic comments and nasty trolls. While Instagram also has a lot of harassers. This type of trolls and negative comments can affect mental health. To help people out in this kind of situations Instagram has rolled out a new feature named ‘Restrict’. Instagram’s Restric feature allows you to mute a person without completely blocking them. Below is everything you need to know about Restrict.
What is Instagram’s Restrict?
As mentioned, Restrict is a new feature that allows you to mute a person on Instagram without completely blocking them. If you choose to restrict a person on Instagram they can still comment on your photos, tag you in photos and they will be able to still message you. However, you will not receive any notifications about these things.
Moreover, the comments written by the bullies will not be visible to anyone except them. None of your followers will be able to see those comments. However, you can choose to view the comments by tapping on “See comment”. You can either approve the comment so that everyone can see that. Else, simply delete or ignore the comment.
The messages sent to you by the restricted accounts will go in to “Message Request” folder. Thus, you will not receive any notifications. You can still view the messages if you want but the person will never know your last seen status or the time when you read the message.
How to use it?
- First things first. Open the Instagram handle of the person you want to restrict.
- Tap on the three dots in the top-right corner. Select “Restrict“.
- There will be a confirmation box. Tap on “Restric Account“.
- That’s it. You’re done.
We find it great that Instagram is taking the mental health of its users seriously. If you think the article was helpful do share it with your friends.